What’s in a name?

Ever since I was a little girl, I always knew if I got to be a mommy one day and had a little girl, I wanted to name her Amethyst. It was the name of the main character of my favorite book when I was young, M.M. Kaye’s “The Ordinary Princess”. Which I think if anyone has a little girl, they should have them read it….it will teach them that being themselves makes them amazing just the way they are.

But as fate would have it, I’m being blessed with a boy. And to be honest, I’d never really thought about names for a boy. Back before we found out we were expecting, my ex and I had discussed names for babies because we’d hoped to have a kid together one day. If we had a girl, he wanted to name her Moon or Luna (which I really opposed). But as luck would have it, we agreed on a boys name. It was a character from a movie that was a favorite for both of us:

Jareth

Image

 

David Bowie at his finest and a movie I’ve loved ever since I was little. Everyone loves the name, although…..I think its the closest I’ve ever seen my mom come to facepalming when I finally explained to her where the name came from. What can I say? I am truly a geek and want my child to have a name that stands out. So when this little munchkin is born sometime in October, he will be my little Goblin King. I just hope he loves the movie as much as I do and that he’s named from it is something he’ll be proud of.

Leave a Reply

